...Piper Industries Corporation Project Management Recommendation Dear Project Manager: With the available information from the previous email regarding the projects of Juniper, Palomino and Stargazer, I feel it is in the company’s best interest to go with the Palomino project moving forward. The reason for not selecting the other two options is because Juniper carries too low of a risk for completion. Stargazer is not worth the high risk of completion and the unfamiliarity of how the final product will be with the customer. The method applied for making this decision was by utilizing the feasibility study. The main purpose of this is because using this project would have to make sense to the company as a whole. Answering all of the questions on Return On Investment (ROI), length of project, risk and overall benefit to Piper Industries. Using the feasibility study for the Juniper and Stargazer projects, it was a basic understanding that previously mentioned material would not be present as with the Palomino model. There are five different phases in project management that involve the Palomino project and those are (Jacobs & Chase 2011): •Project conception and initiation The main focus of this phase is to ensure the project being presented is realistic and will benefit the company. •Project definition and planning The scope of the project will need an outline so the work which needs to be performed is available. Prioritizing, budgets and tim elines are in this phase...
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...Dear Mr. Gritsch: In continuation of your email dated February 10, 2014, I have completed analysis of three projects: Juniper, Palomino and Stargazer. The risk levels in Juniper, Palomino, and Stargazer are low, medium, and high respectively. It is in the best interest of Piper Industries Corporation to move forward with the Stargazer project. Stargazer is selected due to its feasibility and risk level. From market feasibility study, some strategic customers have already indicated interest in the product. Therefore, I would recommend that the board invest in the project, Stargazer; particularly because the company has already invested $450,000 and the ROI is very high. My feasibility study focused on Return on Investment (ROI), length of project, risk level and overall benefit to Piper Industries. See below for the results. Juniper: Return on Investment (ROI): 77% or $250,000 for a period of 2 to 3 years Length of project: Uncertain Risk of completion on time: Low Overall benefit: Enhancement of current product, increased product demand Palomino: Return on Investment (ROI): 69% or $450,000 for a period of 5 years Length of project: 7 Years Risk of completion on time: Medium Overall benefit: New product, use of existing technology, custom part, constant demand Stargazer: Return on Investment (ROI): 278% or $1,600,000 for a period of 3 years Length of project: 7 Years Risk of completion on time: High Overall benefit: Research & Development...
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...Project Management Recommendation OPS/571 September 21, 2014 Project Management Recommendation Dear Mr. Gritsch, In continuation of your email dated September 15, 2014, the team has completed an analysis of the three projects: Juniper, Palomino and Stargazer. The risk levels in Juniper, Palomino, and Stargazer are low, medium, and high respectively. It is in the best interest of Piper Industries Corporation to move forward with the Stargazer project. As noted by you the selected project should generate revenue within 12 months of next week’s PMO Review, and that we should also consider the degree of risk involved with on-time completion, the critical path requirement and cost and, the effective life cycle and forecasted ROI. Stargazer is selected due to its feasibility and risk level. From market feasibility study, some strategic customers have already indicated interest in the product. Therefore, I would recommend that the board invest in the project, Stargazer; particularly because the company has already invested $450,000 and the ROI is very high. My feasibility study focused on five areas which includes the anticipated Return on Investment (ROI), length of project, break-even analysis, risk level and overall benefit to Piper Industries. Please see below for the results and excel worksheet attached. Juniper Cost of the project: $325,000 Critical path: 6 months Return on investment (ROI): 77% or $250,000 for a period of 2 to 3 years (Break-even): A little under...
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...Project Management Email OPS/571 March 21, 2016 Project Management Email To: Wendell Deirelein/Vice President of Operation Management From: Team Operation Intel Date: March 21, 2016 Re: Piper Industries Corporation Mr. Deirelein as per your request Team Operation Intel has proposed the following recommendation in regards to the three projects and have provided the information that you have requested along with the completion date and cost for each project. The recommendation is listed below: Project Juniper: Schedule Risk: Low Cost: $325000 Durations to completion: 6 months ROI: $250,000 yearly for 2 years total = $ 500,000 Project life: 2-3 years Pros: * Product can be executed. * Risk is manageable * Forecasting risk is low. * Product breakeven is around 1.3 years. Breakeven cost = Cost/ROI= 325000/250000= 1.3 years. * Meets client requirement of product launch in next 12 months. Cons: Company’s future at risk as product life is only 2-3 years. Recommendation: Sustainability is not ensured so not recommended. Project Stargazer: Schedule Risk: Very High Cost: $ 1025000 Durations to completion: More than 1year ROI: ROI of $300,000 first year; $550,000 the second year; and $750,000 the third year. ROI total = $ 1600 000 Project life: 7 years Pros: * Product is futuristic Cons: * Risk is high * Forecasting has high variance. * Product breakeven is around 2.23 year’s years. ROI for first 2 years = 850000 and another...
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...Measuring Value from Social Media Steve Latham Spur Digital January 2008 Outline Industry Trends Digital media landscape Why Social Media Barriers to Online Investment Metrics ROI analysis Case study 2 © 2007 Spur Digital LP. All rights reserved. Industry Trends Global online ad spend > $80 billion by 2011(1) $42 billion to be spent in U.S. Online = 11.4% of U.S. ad budget (up from 6.6% in 2006) 2007 online video ad spending to exceed $650mm(2) $1.7 billion by 2009 Video ads will be 8% of Internet ad spend (2.3% today) Media fragmentation is proliferating In 1966 5 mediums dominated In 1986 there were 12 In 2006, 30+ mediums were defined “Prime-Time” has been replaced by “My Time” Consumers determine when and how to engage brands Advertisers must adapt to changing marketplace (1) Piper Jaffrey & Co., February 2007“The User Revolution (2) eMarketer 2006 3 © 2007 Spur Digital LP. All rights reserved. Media Consumption is Changing Interactive now accounts for >30% of media time (1) TV = 35%, Radio = 12%, Print = 9% Gen Y (50% of Internet usage will be “Communitainment” Social Media is the platform for communitainment Networking Interactive discussions Community User Generated Content is the medium Blogs / Discussions Photo sharing Video sharing (1) Credit Suisse 2006 (2) MultiChannel News 2006 4 © 2007 Spur Digital LP. All rights reserved. Today’s Media Landscape TV Direct Mail Radio Print ...
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...The media’s watching Vault! Here’s a sampling of our coverage. “For those hoping to climb the ladder of success, [Vault’s] insights are priceless.” – Money magazine “The best place on the Web to prepare for a job search.” – Fortune “[Vault guides] make for excellent starting points for job hunters and should be purchased by academic libraries for their career sections [and] university career centers.” – Library Journal “The granddaddy of worker sites.” – U.S. News & World Report “A killer app.” – The New York Times One of Forbes’ 33 “Favorite Sites.” – Forbes “To get the unvarnished scoop, check out Vault.” – SmartMoney Magazine “Vault has a wealth of information about major employers and job searching strategies as well as comments from workers about their experiences at specific companies.” – The Washington Post “A key reference for those who want to know what it takes to get hired by a law firm and what to expect once they get there.” – New York Law Journal “Vault [provides] the skinny on working conditions at all kinds of companies from current and former employees.” – USA Today Customized for: Mian Badr (mian.iftikhar@studbocconi.it) Customized for: Mian Badr (mian.iftikhar@studbocconi.it) VAULT CAREER GUIDE TO MIDDLE MARKET INVESTMENT BANKING JOE BEL BRUNO AND THE STAFF OF VAULT Customized for: Mian Badr (mian.iftikhar@studbocconi.it) Customized for: Mian Badr (mian.iftikhar@studbocconi.it) Copyright © 2009 by Vault.com, Inc. All rights reserved....
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...I N D E X | | | | |Sr.No |Contents |Page No | | | | | |1 |Executive Summary |3 | | | | | |2 |Introduction |4 | | | | | |3 |MIS used in Apple |5 | | | | | |4 |Wireless Revolution |7 | | ...
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...Goals…………………………………………………………………………………………. Page 2 Current Strategies……………………………………………………………………………………………………. Page 7 Competitive Environment…………………………………………………………………………………………………….. Page 14 Industry…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… Page 15 Forces and Trends…………………………………………………………………………………………………… Page 18 Consolidating Retail Sector…………………………………………………………………………. Page 19 Private Labels…………………………………………………………………………………………….. Page 20 Competition……………………………………………………………………………………………… Page 20 Porter’s Five Forces………………………………………………………………………………………………. Page 21 Ethical Responsibilities and Challenges ……………………………………………………………….. Page 25 Environmental pollution…………………………………………………………………………… Page 26 Energy Consumption………………………………………………………………………………… Page 26 Possible challenges facing Procter and Gamble…………………………………………………….. Page 27 Internal Strengths and Weaknesses…………………………………………………………………………………. Page 28 Recommendations ………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. Page 37,45 Implementation……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. Page 40,45 Evaluation………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… Page 44,47 Matrices……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. Appendix end I. Executive Summary Procter and Gamble is a leader in the Global Household and Personal Products industry with revenues exceeding 85 billion dollars. It was first founded as a soap and candle company, and now has six divisions, selling everything from baby wipes to batteries...
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...INTRODUCTION HOW TO REALLY GET A JOB IN BANKING: The single most important thing you can do is to talk to as many people as you can. Talk to bankers and second years at SOM, learn about their experiences and views, and above all think for yourself. Getting a job in investment banking should involve two efforts on your part: (1) Learning your own needs - what is it you want in a job? (2) Learning what an investment bank is and does - does this type of job meets your needs? As a final warning, there is an allure to investment banking, namely that it is a high powered, fast-paced, exciting, dynamic career that can make you rich. This can be true, but it is also just a job - particularly as a first-year associate when it may not be as glamorous as you thought it would be. QUALITIES THAT INVESTMENT BANKS LOOK FOR It is important to see yourself as a portfolio of skills and qualities conducting an internet job search as well as any other. There are a number of skills and qualities that banks look for, and a successful candidate needs to put together several, but certainly not all of them. Additionally, it is probably a good idea to have some balance in your portfolio. Some qualities that banks look for on a resume or in the interview and some suggested ways to demonstrate them (these are just a few, and some banks will emphasize some more than others): Show a strong interest in Finance: Be able to convey to an interviewer/contact that you understand what...
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... 2. The second section addresses the key resource itself — human capital — the foundation for the creation of intellectual capital. We explore ways in which the organization can attract, develop, and retain human capital as well as the importance of recognizing the interdependence of these three activities. We also address the value of a diverse work force. 3. Third, we discuss the critical role of social capital, that is, the network of relationships among individuals. We address both social capital within organizations as well as across organizations. 4. The final section focuses on the role of technology in leveraging human capital. This can range from such basic technologies as email to more complex forms such as sophisticated knowledge management systems. We also discuss how technology can play a key role in electronic teams (or e-teams) and enhance the retention of knowledge in an organization. LECTURE/DISCUSSION OUTLINE The opening case describes how a licensing and marketing firm, The Wildflower Group, found...
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...utilization, greener IT with less power consumption, better management through central environment control, more availability, reduced project timelines by eliminating hardware procurement, improved disaster recovery capability, more central control of the desktop, and improved outsourcing services. With these benefits, it is no wonder that virtualization has had a meteoric rise to the 2008 Top 10 IT Projects! This white paper presents a brief look at virtualization, its benefits and weaknesses, and today’s “best practices” regarding virtualization. The Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) recommends these “best practices” to obtain the benefits that virtualization offers. Copyright 2008, Association of Information Technology Professionals. Permission to copy for personal non-commercial use granted. When the paper is referenced or quoted, direct the reader to www.aitp.org. Special thanks to the following editor: Mike Hinton, Southwestern Illinois College AITP Research and Strategy Advisory Group October 14, 2008 Page 1 of 40 Virtualization and Its Benefits Executive Summary Virtualization has quickly evolved from concept to reality. The technologies that are used for servers, clients, storage, and networks are being virtualized to create flexible and cost effective IT infrastructures. The focus of this paper is the use of virtual technology for data center systems with management best practices. Given today‘s emphasis on Total Cost of Ownership...
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...Includes Over Two Hours of Bonus Audio on the CD Includes Real-World Scenarios and Leading-Edge Exam Prep Software Featuring: Updated for the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide), Fourth Edition • Custom Test Engine • Hundreds of Sample Questions • Chapter Review in Audio Format • Electronic Flashcards • Entire Book in PDF PMP Fifth Edition SERIOUS SKILLS. ® Project Management Professional Exam STUDY GUIDE Kim Heldman Project Management Professional Exam Study Guide Fifth Edition PMP ® Project Management Professional Exam Study Guide Fifth Edition PMP ® Kim Heldman Acquisitions Editor: Jeff Kellum Development Editor: Alexa Murphy Technical Editors: Terri Wagner and Brett Feddersen Production Editor: Christine O’Connor Copy Editor: Judy Flynn Production Manager: Tim Tate Vice President and Executive Group Publisher: Richard Swadley Vice President and Publisher: Neil Edde Project Manager 1: Laura Moss-Hollister Associate Producer: Angie Denny Quality Assurance: Josh Frank Book Designers: Judy Fung, Bill Gibson Compositor: Craig Woods, Happenstance Type-O-Rama Proofreader: Publication Services, Inc. Indexer: Nancy Guenther Project Coordinator, Cover: Lynsey Stanford Cover Designer: Ryan Sneed Copyright © 2009 by Wiley Publishing, Inc., Indianapolis, Indiana Published simultaneously in Canada ISBN: 978-0-470-45558-6 No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form...
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...prepared for use by the Denver International Airport and its financial advisors in determining the estimated annual operating results of the proposed Subject. The conclusions set forth in this report are based on an analysis for supply and demand for the transient lodging market in the Denver-Aurora market area as of August 8, 2012, the completion date of our fieldwork and primary market research. As in all studies of this type, the estimated results assume competent and efficient marketing and operational management, and presume no significant change in the status of the competitive lodging industry from that as set forth in this report. The terms of this engagement are such that we have no obligation to revise this report to reflect events or conditions which occur subsequent to the date of completion of our fieldwork; however, we are available to discuss the necessity for revision in view of changes in the economy or market factors which have a material effect on the project. Since our projections of the market performance of the hotel are based on...
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...about Discrepancies? Job Descriptions Summarize the Data Describing Managerial/Professional Jobs Verify the Description Job Analysis: Bedrock or Bureaucracy? Judging Job Analysis Reliability Validity Acceptability Usefulness A Judgment Call Your Turn: The Customer-Service Agent Three people sit in front of their keyboards scanning their monitors. One is a sales representative in Ohio, checking the progress of an order for four dozen picture cell phones from a retailer in Texas, who just placed the four dozen into his shopping cart on the company’s website. A second is an engineer logging in to the project design software for the next generation of these picture cell phones. Colleagues in China working on the same project last night (day in China) sent some suggestions for changes in the new design; the team in the United States will work on the project today and have their work waiting for their Chinese colleagues when they come to work in the morning. A third employee, in Ireland, is using the business software recently installed worldwide to analyze the latest sales reports. In today’s workplace, people working for the same company need no longer be down the hallway from one another. They...
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...Permissions may be sought directly from Elsevier’s Science & Technology Rights Department in Oxford, UK: phone (144) (0) 1865 843830; fax (144) (0) 1865 853333; email: permissions@elsevier.com. Alternatively you can submit your request online by visiting the Elsevier web site at http://elsevier.com/locate/permissions, and selecting Obtaining permission to use Elsevier material Notice No responsibility is assumed by the publisher for any injury and/or damage to persons or property as a matter of products liability, negligence or otherwise, or from any use or operation of any methods, products, instructions or ideas contained in the material herein. Because of rapid advances in the medical sciences, in particular, independent verification of diagnoses and drug dosages should be made. British Library Cataloguing in Publication Data A catalogue record for this book is available from the British Library Library of Congress Cataloguing in Publication Data A catalog record for this book is available from the Library of Congress ISBN–13: 978-0-7506-8650-1 For information on all Butterworth-Heinemann publications visit our website at http://books.elsevier.com Printed and bound in Great Britain 07 08 09 10 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 For Loredana and Alexis for their encouragement, support and advice in our family’s own risk management. Introduction At the time of writing, at least three major global risks can be identified which...
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