...This article is a detailed, academically supported body of work, designed to retort the following questions: How and why are semantically sexualised women used as a perceptive marketing stunt’ and ‘what role does the media play in legitimizing gender discrepancies through framing and cultivation strategies? Coaxed by the issue of female objectification in the mass media, the following research was conducted both practically, and theoretically, to overtly annunciate the social and democratic problems associated with advertised female subordination. The relative research involves a semiotic analysis of two sources, coupled with a survey of 40 candidates of varying ages. Furthermore, theoretical mechanisms of media framing and cultivation have been deconstructed throughout this article to uncover the impact of magnified female subordination on the domestic expectations of children and young adults. Through the collection of data, it was able to be conclusively recognized the impact of objectification on social attitudes. Results had shown the many conceptions concerning the female purpose, these include; a woman’s role as a domestic and sexual slave to her male partner. Through the convergence of data, semiotic analysis and academic theory, it may be meticulously understood how female objectification in the mass media is a social complication in the construction of an egalitarian future. ‘Women’s bodies are predominantly valued for its use to others’ Fredrickson & Roberts 1997 ...
Words: 3317 - Pages: 14
...the general phenomenon in which females become “domesticated women”, or workhorses for men. Rubin wrote her influential essay The Traffic in Women in 1975, yet her definitions of sex, gender, and sexism are still applicable today. The issues that Rubin addressed are demonstrated in particular in today’s media, which reinforces gender inequality and objectification, through the depiction of women as hyper-sexualized, weak, and unskilled. This negative depiction of women exists especially in the gaming community, in which many have criticized the negative portrayal of women as sexist and severely problematic. Video games like Grand Theft Auto and Red Dead Redemption portray women in an almost exclusively violent and sexualized manner, which serves to reinforce the never-ending sexism and gender biases that society has upheld for centuries. Society as a whole can change the perception of gender and how women are perceived, but leaps towards progressive ideas need to be made first, starting with the video game industry as a whole. Throughout history, women’s roles have primarily been domestic – staying home and being responsible for the care of her husband and children. As Warnke points out (4), this is not a result of sex but, rather of gender. Society, culture, and especially economics have been the primary driver behind the reinforcement of gender stereotypes particularly for women. Joan Wallach Scot’s analysis of French garment jobs during the 1840’s serves as an example...
Words: 1646 - Pages: 7
...just to mention few. As the children grows as their gender relations becomes more determined accordingly to their sexes. Gender representation is the way the gender relations are portrayed in different fields to reveal the real gendered life situation in the society, be it in politics, media, education, economic and other fields in the particular society. Music, movies, television radio and magazines as parts of media, gender has been represented through music in this text as follows; This text concerns the representation of gender, or the discourse of gender. If you watch television, walk on the street, wait for the bus or do other things, you are always confronted by images of men and women. In movies, television series and advertisements you see these images and they may influence you consciously or subconsciously. Since media is such a big part of people‘s everyday lives, and is some ways may influence how people perceive themselves and the world, it is interesting to see how representations in movies portray gender. These images, whether it is known or not, may have an important impact upon people‘s lives and how people create their identities. It is highly improbable to think that the media does not affect people, their way of thinking, and the way they perceive the world and themselves (Gauntlett 2008, p. 1-3). Therefore, in order to create awareness among us with our society, the main idea of this thesis is attempting to see how gender is represented in songs by loosely...
Words: 2350 - Pages: 10
...Canadian-American feminist media critic, blogger, and public speaker. She is the founder of Feminist Frequency, a website that hosts videos and commentary analyzing portrayals of women in popular culture. She has received particular attention for her video series Tropes vs. Women in Video Games, which examines tropes in the depiction of female video game characters. In 2012, Sarkeesian was targeted by an online harassment campaign following her launch of a Kickstarter project to fund the Tropes vs. Women in Video Games series. At the same time, supporters donated almost $160,000 to the project, far beyond the $6,000 she had sought. The situation was covered extensively in the media, placing Sarkeesian at the center of...
Words: 1675 - Pages: 7
...UnME Jeans Case Study Analysis Page 2 Summary UnME Jeans was a rising star in the world of junior denim fashion. The UnME brand focused on the individuality of teenage girls who coveted their designer-style jeans that featured glitter, jewels, and various forms of metalwork. UnME jeans were sold in more upscale department stores and specialty retailers and at premium price. ! Traditionally, UnME advertised to their target consumers using TV ads spots during popular programs for teenage girls, like Gossip Girl, American Idol, and One Tree Hill. They also took out full-page magazine print advertising in beauty and fashion magazines, as well as radio ads on popular stations. In addition, they had a corporate website and used online banner and display ads on the most popular websites for teenage girls. ! Margaret Foley, the brand manager for UnME Jeans, had trouble justify the expenses of advertising using traditional media outlets. Especially since the prices to purchase TV ads were increasing each year, despite declining TV audiences, and consumers’ who were skipping or delete TV ads from the programs they had recorded to watch later. In order to reduce costs, Foley asked the ad agency they were using to look into Web 2.0 social media options to see if there was a better way to reach her objectives. ! ! ! ! She wanted to maximize UnMe’s reach and frequency among their target demographic--women 12 to 24. She also wanted that media to be consistent with UnMe's...
Words: 1690 - Pages: 7
...industry (Atkinson & Halliday, 2003), mostly due to the success of rap music, the most widely publicized and marketed aspect. Media such as television and magazines are responsible for hip-hop’s global recognition today, allowing everyone from the United States to Germany and Korea to embrace the culture (Bennett, 1999). Hip-hop culture has made an enormous transition from its beginning stages to its current state. Early hip-hop reduced inner-city gang violence, as aspects such as the break dancing and rapping acted as positive outlets for at-risk youth, but the emergence of “gangsta” and commercial rap during the 1990s severely lessened the emphasis on non-violence (Watkins, 2001). Today, media associate hip-hop culture with drugs, sex, and violence (Yousman, 2003). This research paper will analyze advertisements in hip-hop magazines, with the aim of discovering how women are depicted. Specifically, this paper will examine how the majority of advertisements within three major hip-hop magazines in the United States depict women in a manner that both reinforces male dominance in American society and depicts women as sexual objects. This paper will also explain and demonstrate how the media images are functioning according to Professor George Gerbner’s cultivation theory. Several scholarly sources deal with hip-hop culture and gender biases, as well as the media that stereotype females (Baileyl 2006; Bennett 1999; Boyd 2004; Dixon & Linz 1997; Grossberger, 2003; Jones 1997; Keyes...
Words: 3194 - Pages: 13
...JONATHAN CRATON Introduction In the past few decades, interactive electronic media has grown from virtual non-existence to one of the primary means of entertainment for college students. In more recent years, the Internet has completely changed the landscape of electronic media from something individual and static into something with the potential to be interactive and social. This article examines the effects of increased student usage of traditional video games as well as online games. The demographics of the typical game player will be examined along with effects on the individual development and sociological perceptions. This article will also look at the potential education utility of video games and the effect of games on student engagement and social development. The College Gamer Recent data from UCLA’s Higher Education Research Institute provides useful information about video game usage on college campuses. The data show that most college students have played video games, many play them regularly, and a small percentage use them as a primary means of entertainment and leisure. In the 2009 Freshman Survey, around 1% of respondents admitted to playing over 20 hours of videogames per week. Over 35% of the respondents stated that they play at least one hour per week. There is an enormous gender disparity in the amount of time spend on videogames. While less than 1 in 50 incoming freshmen women played more than 10 hours of videogames per week, 1 in 10 males admitted to...
Words: 2766 - Pages: 12
...PROJECT REPORT ON ‘STUDY OF EYEWATCH – MOBILE PHONE APPLICATION WITH SPECIAL REFERENCE TO WOMEN POPULATION AND ITS PROMOTIONAL STRATEGIES’ FOR INDIANEYE SECURITY PVT. LTD. [Submitted in partial fulfilment of the requirement for the PGDM- IB (2011-2013) course at FSM, New Delhi] Submitted By: Submitted To: Palak Thukral Prof. Neetu Jain Roll No.- 053027, IMG5 FORE School of Management FORE SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT B-18, QUTAB INSTITUTIONAL AREA NEW DELHI CERTIFICATION This is to certify that Ms. Palak Thukral, Roll No.053027, IMG V has completed her corporate business project and submitted this report entitled ‘Study of Eyewatch- mobile phone application with special reference to women population and its promotional strategies’ for Indianeye Security Pvt. Ltd., towards partial fulfilment of her Post Graduate Diploma in Management – International Business (PGDM-IB)(2011-2013) course at FSM, New Delhi. This report is the result of her own work and to the best of my knowledge no part of it has earlier comprised any other report, monograph, dissertation or book. It was carried out under my overall supervision. Date: Place: Prof. Neetu Jain Internal Faculty Guide ACKNOWLEDGEMENT I take the opportunity to express the feeling of gratitude towards FORE School of Management for keeping project as part of Bachelor of Business Administration Course. ...
Words: 13441 - Pages: 54
...Running head: THE EFFECTS OF MEDIA IN SOCIALIZATION The Effects of Media in the Socialization of Children and Young Adults The Effects of Media in the Socialization of Children and Young Adults The media today are a powerful tool in modifying the behavior of children and young adults. This behavior can be seen as negative or positive depending on the situation. Children’s development is influenced by many factors but as Lund (2003) noted the significance of the mass media cannot be overstated: “The accumulated experience of media exposure contributes to the cultivation of a child’s values, beliefs, dreams, and expectations, which shape the adult identity a child will carry and modify through his or her life.” Studies investigating Social Learning Theory, done by Baker (2007, p.26) have consistently reported that children can model roles and behaviors seen on television. Media play a significant role in the socialization process, body image, and moral judgments in children and adolescents. Cartoons on television are some of the first factors of socialization in a child’s life. Although many adults feel that cartoons are obviously fantastical, unrealistic, and therefore harmless to children, the research evidence proves otherwise. “According to developmental literature, children before the age of ten years often have difficulty differentiating between reality and fantasy”(Baker...
Words: 4134 - Pages: 17
...Sponsored Search Strategy We believe that Big Skinny should continue to advertise via sponsored search ads. Based upon the Cost per Click model presented to us in Exhibit 4 in the case study, the numbers show that they are able to generate a fair amount of revenue. If we evaluate the data within Big Skinny’s CPC model, we can determine the cost and revenue as follows - Cost = Impressions x CTR x CPC Cost = 42,986 x 4.8% x .54 Cost = $1,114.20 Revenue = Impressions x CTR x Conversion Rate x Revenue Per Conversion** Revenue = 42,986 x 4.8% x .05 x $20 Revenue = $2,063.40 ** The value of $20 for Revenue Per Conversion is being assumed for this exercise. For one, CEO Kiril Alexandrov is quoted as saying “for $20, your wallet will be that thin forever” in the case study. Additionally, after searching their website, the vast majority of wallets listed on their website are being sold for more than $20. Therefore, $20 is used as a bare minimum price for each wallet sold. Even with that in mind, you can see that the revenue is almost double that of the cost. Taking into consideration that a certain number of the wallet sales will most likely be more than $20, the revenue will be larger in reality. This proves that their sponsored search advertising campaign is generating revenue. With that said, we can’t confirm that it is profitable since we weren’t provided with cost of manufacturing and distributing the product. One keyword that Big Skinny might want to decrease...
Words: 1902 - Pages: 8
...How Media Effect Children Franchester White Eng/101 September 7, 2014 Karen Strimkovskey Is your child safe? As a parent, you always want to know what your child is watching on television. The media is a powerful tool that doesn’t always teach a positive lesson. Media have provided the means and opportunity for children to distort reality into fallacies through television and video games. While media programs have a negative effect on children, there are some positive programs. The largest amounts of violence are found in children shows. Children between the age of 2 and 18 spends 6 hours and 32 minutes on an average a day using media with the exception of sleeping this is more than they spend on any other activity. When multiple media is stimulated, this time is increased to 8 hours a day. Big parts of media exposure are violent acts that are also witnessed in video games. On an average, a young child will have viewed 200,000 acts of violence on television (TV). Exposure to violent media wrecks havoc on thoughts, feeling, and most importantly, behavior. “The Influence of Media Violence on Youth,” a report appearing in the December 2003 edition of “Psychological Science in the Public Interest,” points to strong evidence points to the exposure to media violence causes boost in physically and verbally aggressive behavior in children. “Extensive research evidence indicates that media violence can contribute to aggressive behavior...
Words: 1660 - Pages: 7
...Sponsored Search Strategy We believe that Big Skinny should continue to advertise via sponsored search ads. Based upon the Cost per Click model presented to us in Exhibit 4 in the case study, the numbers show that they are able to generate a fair amount of revenue. If we evaluate the data within Big Skinny’s CPC model, we can determine the cost and revenue as follows - Cost = Impressions x CTR x CPC Cost = 42,986 x 4.8% x .54 Cost = $1,114.20 Revenue = Impressions x CTR x Conversion Rate x Revenue Per Conversion** Revenue = 42,986 x 4.8% x .05 x $20 Revenue = $2,063.40 ** The value of $20 for Revenue Per Conversion is being assumed for this exercise. For one, CEO Kiril Alexandrov is quoted as saying “for $20, your wallet will be that thin forever” in the case study. Additionally, after searching their website, the vast majority of wallets listed on their website are being sold for more than $20. Therefore, $20 is used as a bare minimum price for each wallet sold. Even with that in mind, you can see that the revenue is almost double that of the cost. Taking into consideration that a certain number of the wallet sales will most likely be more than $20, the revenue will be larger in reality. This proves that their sponsored search advertising campaign is generating revenue. With that said, we can’t confirm that it is profitable since we weren’t provided...
Words: 1902 - Pages: 8
...(CDC, 2012). Contrary to the evident statistics affecting the African American population as a whole, there remains a small amount of research studies, dedicated towards HIV/AIDs healthcare promotion and prevention strategies specifically designed for the African American women. However, there is a large proportion of African American women affected by HIV/AIDs. In 2009, black women accounts for 30% of the new estimations of HIV infections among blacks. The rate for HIV infections as compared to other populations is 15 times more than white women, and three times as high for Latina women (CDC, 2012). This is confirmed by social media, primarily directed at African American males. In regards to the African American women, personal beliefs, cultural practices, and social norms act as a backdrop in determining the risk behavior of acquiring HIV/AIDs. This study serves to address the need for prevention strategies among single African American women of 18-22 years of age in college from the middle socioeconomic class. The subjects for the study are voluntary and motivated to learn with no developmental barriers noted. In particular, the study will investigate the use of sexual barriers among the college women as a preventive measure against HIV/AIDs and their overall knowledge of protective barriers and risk behaviors. Model The Health Belief Model is centered upon a client’s belief in his or her own personal susceptibility and severity of a health condition as...
Words: 2634 - Pages: 11
...Music Video Effects on its Listeners EN 1320 / Composition I Music Video Effects on its Listeners Some would argue that these videos are simply a way for musical artists to express themselves in a way that they normally could not with just music, but statistics and research would argue otherwise. Studies have shown that a vast majority of music videos today have a negative impact on adolescents. These videos have a large influence on how teens view themes such as sex, drugs, violence and even influence their behaviors like how they see themselves and how they think they should fit in by establishing gender stereotypes. These themes are very dangerous as most of today’s youth get their information from the media. While some music videos are seen as an art form, they force much of today’s teens to hold very unrealistic views of life by skewing what their priorities and goals should be. Today’s music and its videos have a huge influence on many factors of a young adolescent’s life. One aspect in particular is sex. Studies have shown that sexual content appears in more than 75% of the videos being viewed (Ashby, 2005). Needless to say, this is a very high exposure of sexual content in music videos. The dangerous part of this is that young impressionable minds are viewing these videos and getting most of their information about sex and life decisions from the media instead of from parents. The danger is shown in other...
Words: 1354 - Pages: 6
...25-35 year old women. Logo: Flame Tagline: The beauty authority 4 P’S OF MARKETING Products: 288 brands, representing over 20,000 products, ranging from prestige brands such as Lancome, Clinique, Urban Decay and Too Faced. Also carried a host of private label products in every category. Pricing: Pricing is often identical to that of department stores. Place: 1000 stores in 23 countries, out of which 450 are in U.S and Canada. In America, it has a retail presence in 36 states. Throughout U.S, Majority of the stores are in metropolitan areas and shopping malls. In 2006, Sephora entered into a retail partnership with JC Penney in which it became the exclusive beauty retailer inside JC Penney department stores. Promotions: Typically involved offering samples. Also offers two discount events annually to its loyalty card holders only. COMPETITORS Brick & Mortar Competitors: • Macy’s • Nordstrom • Mac • Ulta Click & Mortar Competitors: • Amazon.com • Beauty.com • Birch box • Gilt Groupe PODS AND POPS POD: • Vibrant stores that attracted young and chic clients • Stores encouraged trial and experimentation of products. • Used pull strategy for all brands as they didn't have a dedicated salesperson for each brand unlike other drugstores and department stores. * Open sell self-service retail model. POP: • Same pricing. • Same products. SWOT ANALYSIS OF SEPHORA...
Words: 1095 - Pages: 5